Skip to content

Invisible Children

April 1, 2009

I am sitting here at my computer at 12:53 a.m. writing because I was compelled to.  No.  That’s  not quite right.  I am writing because I had to.  I viewed a documentary online tonight, that shook the very foundation of my being.  It is titled, Invisible Children.  It is a story of the children in Uganda who are being stolen from their homes, their brothers and sisters, their parents, and from everything they have ever known.  They are being taken from their families to fight a war that is both senseless and tragic.  They are being taken under the orders of ONE man who has been waging war on his own country for over 2 decades.  A man who has mutilated and/or killed, countless thousands of innocent men, women, and children.  A man who continues this reign of terror, even as I write these words.

Imagine if you can, boys as young as 9 years old, walking along dirt roads carrying uzi’s, machine guns, and rocket launchers.  My oldest son is 9 years old, and I shudder.  Imagine if you can, what these boys are ordered to do with their weapons as they invade village, after village, after village.  Villages filled with more children.  More parents.  More tragedy.  I am simply overcome.  

I look at my beautiful children (ages 12, 9, 7, & 3) as they lay sleeping peacefully in their beds tonight, and I say a prayer for every mother in Uganda who does not know where her child is sleeping tonight.  For every mother who does not know if her child has eaten today.  For every mother who does not dare to contemplate the kinds of abuse her child is enduring.  For every mother who does not even know if her child is alive or dead.  I pray for these mothers and I think to myself, “Where is the United Nations?  Where is America?  Where is the body of Christ?”  I pray for these mothers and my heart simply shatters into a million tiny pieces.

I encourage you to view this documentary here:  http://www.invisiblechildren.com  

I promise you, you will never be the same.  It is 36 minutes long, but well worth your time.  I encourage you to view it in its entirety, and then I dare you to share it with everyone you know. Because this is a message that needs to be heard.  Because these children deserve to be heard.  Because we can’t just sit back and allow this atrocity to continue.   

For the mothers of Uganda,

-M

2 Comments leave one →
  1. secretg permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:55 am

    Michelle. I read your post today but confess I did not watch the doc. I was busy being silly today and did not feel like feeling sad. I have heard of this situation before, though. Truly, it is horrifying.

    • michellenotwithstanding permalink*
      April 2, 2009 3:10 pm

      I understand your hesitancy. Ever since I watched it, I’ve had a very heavy heart.

Leave a Reply

