Skip to content

Confessions of a Facebook Addict

April 9, 2009

flairI confess that I am abnormally addicted to all things facebook.  For instance, I love to screen the home page to see what all my friends are up to, and feel more than mild annoyance when nothing new is posted.  Yes.  I am one of those people.  I also love giving out flair, which in turn, has afforded me an insane amount of “flair points,” the significance of which, is completely lost on me.  

Then there are the “quizzes.”  Oh, what to say about the quizzes?  That they are filled with distressingly bad grammar and laughable spelling is an understatement.  Yet, they have snared me time and time again, no matter my resolve to ignore them.  Some things just won’t be ignored.  They refuse.  In the past few days alone, I have taken the “What 2008 Song Are You?, “What California City Should You Live In?,” “What Type of Music Are You?,” What Character on ‘Lost’ Are You Most Like?, “What Soda Are You?, “Which Fairy Tale Do You Belong In?,” and the list goes on and on.  I know.  It’s sad.  There are literally hundreds of these random quizzes on facebook, and all the while I’m taking them, I am trying to understand their appeal.  Could it be because the accuracy of said quiz is “spot on” (I’ve always wanted to use that term)?   I think not.  Nine times out of ten, I am shaking my head at the 3 minutes of my life I have just wasted and can never get back.  

I think it all boils down to a game of “Follow the Leader.”  You know.  You log on to facebook, and are greeted by the plethora of quizzes your friends participated in in your brief absence to use the bathroom, change a diaper, or feed your kids, and you simply follow suit.  There’s no choice in the matter really.  When my friend Jill came out as Kanye West in the “How White Are You?” quiz, then you can bet your sweet honey buns I wanted to find out just how white I was!  

Turns out I’m Bill Clinton.  Bill.  Clinton.  And even though I know its not real, I felt culpable somehow.  Almost like, guilt by association.  It made me want to defend myself.  To stand up and shout defiantly, “I did NOT have sex with that woman!”  

And there it goes.  Three minutes of my life I can never get back.

Until next time…

-M

2 Comments leave one →
  1. secretg permalink
    April 9, 2009 3:04 am

    yeah. yeah. whatever. you got something MORE productive to do with three minutes? ;o)

    now get back over there and find out “What type of Asian you are”!

  2. Sarah Awu permalink
    July 7, 2009 1:30 pm

    Hm, here’s something better to do with 3 minutes… write me a sentence and email it and by the end of the day I might have a full page of moments from your day and feel like I am just over for a visit.

    You make me shake my head and smile and say, “oh, Michelle, Michelle.”

    I think curiosity…temptation…gets the better of us all.

    I love you,
    Sarah Awu

Leave a Reply

