Skip to content

I Heart Oxymoron’s

April 11, 2009

I am dedicating this post to all things “oxymoron.”  In case you don’t know what an oxymoron is, I’ll let Webster define it for you:  “A figure of speech in which two words with opposing meanings are used together intentionally for effect.”

I love oxymoron’s!  I even love the name oxymoron.  It’s also fun to say “oxymoron” in a group of people, because inevitably, someone will think you’ve come up with a new way of calling them a moron.  Oxymoron!  Oxymoron!  Heh-heh-heh-heh.  But I digress.  The point is, I am going to start a kind of “Top 100 List” of oxymoron’s.  I will try to add to the list as I think up new one’s, but I would really LOVE it if you submitted your own oxymoron(s) to be published here on this page.  I will even be sure to give you full “oxymoron contribution credit.”   What more can you ask for from life?  ;)

Okay, here goes…

1.  Family Vacation  (With 4 kids, this is a personal fave)

2.  Jumbo Shrimp

3.  Pretty Ugly

4.  Awfully Good

5.  Boneless Ribs

6.  Civil War

7.  Clearly Confused

8.  Cold Sweat

9.  Doing Nothing

10.  Feeling Numb

That’s all I can come up with for now.  Let’s see if we can keep this list going until we reach 100!

Until next time…

-M

 

Edited to add:

11.  Boneless Chicken Wings

12.  New and Improved

13.  Freezer Burn

14.  Crash Landing

As promised, full “oxymoron contribution credit” goes out to:  mystormysea.  Thanks for participating Stormy!  I totally heart your oxymoron’s!  =) Okay people, 14 down, 86 more to go.  Put on those thinking caps, and contribute, contribute, contribute!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 5:32 am

    I’ve been thinking long and hard about this.
    I have yet to come up with one you have not already listed.

    Can we come up with 100 easier somethings? ;o)

  2. mystormysea permalink
    June 28, 2009 4:57 pm

    Goes along with #5 – Boneless chicken wings

    Also, new and improved, freezer burn, crash landing.

    That’s all I have for now. But I’m with you, I love oxymorons! :)

    • michellenotwithstanding permalink*
      June 28, 2009 7:21 pm

      Stormy- these are great! As promised, I am going to add them to the list and give you FULL oxymoron credit! =) Thanks for participating in my randomness!

Leave a Reply

