Skip to content

To Faithy on Your 13th Birthday

August 28, 2009

To my beautiful daughter on your 13th birthday,

You were born on a Saturday, at 8:14 in the morning.  The doctor placed your tiny wriggling body in my arms, and we both cried.  I pulled you close to my heart and whispered in your ear, “It’s okay sweetheart. Mommy’s here.”  You stilled at the sound of my voice, and stopped crying.  My heart had never been so full.

Today, you are 13 years old.  And even though you have grown so tall, I still love to hold  you in my arms when you are sad, pull you close to my heart and whisper in your ear, “It’s okay sweetheart. Mommy’s here.”  And at least for  a little while longer, you will still at the sound of my voice and stop crying.   

Oh how I wish my beautiful girl, that my hugs and whispers would get you through the rest of  life’s ups & downs, sorrows and disappointments.  How I wish that my words will still your crying when you’ve had your heart broken for the very first time, been betrayed by a friend, or experienced the death of a loved one. But no matter how much my heart will yearn to comfort you,  I will not be enough.  I will not be enough, because there is only One who is.  Only Jesus, my beloved daughter, can heal all your hurts, dry all your tears and bring you  joy that is both full and complete. He is the friend who will stick closer than a brother (Proverbs 18:24).  He is the One who who will heal your broken heart, and bind up your wounds (Psalm 147:3).  And when you feel like the world is crashing down around you, and you can no longer stand under the strain, “fall on Jesus, fall on Jesus, fall on Jesus and LIVE!”

I love you with all my heart,

Mommy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

