Skip to content

The Year of Less

January 20, 2010

I have decided that 2010 is going to be my year.  The year of Less.  The year of:  Less Stress.  Less Anger.  Less Sadness.  Less “What if’s and If only’s.”  Less Drama.  And dare I say it?  Less Clutter. This is the year I am finally going to stop talking about it, and start doing it.

But the thing about clutter is, it comes in so many shapes and sizes.  There is emotional clutter.  And believe me, I’ve got a lot of junk knocking around inside my head that so does NOT need to be there. There is physical clutter.  Mine happens to come in the form of about 45 extra (highly unnecessary), pounds. There is even spiritual clutter.  The kind that keeps you from growing in your faith; leaving you feeling stagnant and full of doubts.

Then there is real life clutter.  The kind that grows unheeded for years and years, until one day you open up a closet or cupboard, and all its contents come toppling out, and onto your head.  The kind that makes you embarrassed to have people over to your home, for fear of what they might find shoved in a corner or underneath a bed.  I am SO tired of living like that.  Tired of being bogged down by all of the drama flitting around in my head.  Tired of being self-conscious and “weighed down” by the extra pounds on my frame.  Tired of giving only part of myself to the Savior who gave up His very life for mine.  Tired of being a miserly hostess who makes excuses as to why we never have anyone over for fellowship.  Tired of being tired!

So.  This is it.  This is the year.  The Year of, “Less About Me and More About Him.”  The Year of Less.  I think it’s going to be fabulous.

Until next time,

-M

One Comment leave one →
  1. bethhiett permalink
    February 1, 2010 4:45 am

    This is too cool! The Holy Spirit must be working in both of us the same way. Check out my posts on simplicity…. BTW did you notice we both started our blogs in the SAME month?

    P.S. I like your writing style :)

Leave a Reply

