Skip to content

We are “Those” People

March 6, 2010

Well.  I did it.  I actually, did it.  I made the jump, took the plunge, leaped out in faith!  Yep.  I am now a certified, homeschool mom.  Or maybe just, certifiable… but I digress.  The point is, I’m doing it.  The thing I didn’t think I would ever have the guts to do, because I didn’t want to be categorized as, “one of those people.”   I didn’t want to be bombarded with all of the stereotypical questions, that inevitably come with making the choice to homeschool your kids:  “What about socialization?”  “How do your kids feel about this (as if we would just force this life on them, without making sure they were okay with it, first)?”  And then, there’s always the incredulous, “WHY???”

These questions both intimidate, and baffle me.  I’m never quite sure what to say, when approached by someone who feels that I owe them an explanation on how we have chosen to raise our own kids.  Do they honestly believe that StudMuffin and I entered into this lightly?  That this is just some, spur-of-the-moment whim?  Do I really seem that crazy?  Hellooo?  You’re looking at the quintessential, “obsessive-compulsive-all-of-my-ducks-in-a-row-what-are-my-life-plans-over-the-next-year,” kind of girl.  I plot, I plan, I prepare, I pray.  I don’t just do. Anything.  Drives StudMuffin up the wall, but that is another story, altogether.

We’ve been at this whole homeschooling thing for 4 weeks now, and I won’t say it’s been easy.  Then again, the things in life that are truly worth doing, are seldom easy.  The things in life that are truly worth doing, should stretch you beyond your preconceived boundaries. Take you outside of your comfort zone.  Make you uncomfortable.  I am convinced, that God isn’t satisfied with a dormant life. He delights in watching us, “bloom where we are planted.”  But sometimes… sometimes, He will uproot you, and plant you somewhere else.  And in the process of the uprooting, we are vulnerable, homeless, afraid… The question we need to ask ourselves then, isn’t so much, “Where is He taking me?”  But, “Do I trust the One who is holding me in His hands?”  I’ve decided on the latter.

Until next time…

-M

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

