Skip to content

Why StudMuffin is the Hero of my Heart

April 14, 2010

We started homeschooling our kids in February.  This means, there is an awful lot of togetherness going on in this house.  Togetherness that I generally enjoy.  Generally, speaking.  Generally… However, when the togetherness starts to get generally annoying, I need a safe place to send my kids that doesn’t require me to babysit them.  This doesn’t afford me very many options.  But Michelle, “beggars can’t be choosers,” and “the sun will come out tomorrow!”  Yada-yada-yada.  Whatever.  Look.  All I want, is a place to send my kids that doesn’t require me to babysit them. What?  I’m repeating myself?  Huh.

Anyways, the front yard has always been off-limits because we live on a busy, main street, and the nincompoops that “drive” down said street, don’t seem to notice that they are doing so, in a residential area!

*curse*

*curse*

*rant*

*rant*

SO, instead of sending the Munchkins out front to become roadkill, I send them out to the backyard… where they dance off merrily… singing a… happy little ditty… whilst throwing rose petals at my feet.  *Snort*  Not really.  Actually, they gripe, grumble, and stomp– which isn’t as nice as my fantasy sequence, but at least they are whining on their way out of the house.  I’ll take what I can get. BUT.   All of this changed a couple of weeks ago, when StudMuffin purchased and assembled, the mother of all playground sets.  It took him 4 whole days, a lot of sweat, and many hours of hefting a power drill; which made me sweat!  This is the outcome…

Purchased from Sam’s Club, this is how it started out.  There were 3 other boxes FULL of lumber & its subsequent parts.

StudMuffin accomplished all of this on the very first day, with only minimal help from the Munchkins.  I elected to “help,” by documenting the process in its entirety.  Can you say, “Proverbs 31 Woman,” anybody?

This is just one of the many (and I do mean many), pictures I took of StudMuffin with a power tool in his hands.  Something about this man with a power tool in his hands, makes my heart go all fluttery.

This is StudMuffin goofing it up just a bit, because this was about the bajillionty-eth time I had snapped a photo of him, with the aforementioned power tool.

And this is the completed project.  This is the wonder-saving device that gets my kids out of the house without taking my sanity with them.  This is why StudMuffin is the hero of my heart.  How incredibly blessed am I, to be married to such an incredible man???

And this… THIS is why I call him StudMuffin.  *Flutter*  *Flutter*  Sigh…  I love you, StudMuffin.  You SO rock my world!

Until next time…

-M

2 Comments leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    April 17, 2010 8:55 pm

    we also have a freeway in front of our house, despite the residential area and the park. The nincompoops don’t see that there are children and people around… it’s just their quick route home.
    And who knew an artist could build a play structure, use powertools, and sport such guns!!

  2. Michelle Notwithstanding permalink*
    April 18, 2010 7:23 pm

    re: “the guns”- Now you know why, we have 4 kids! *flutter-flutter* Sigh… ;)

    Congrats on the new addition to your family, btw!!! I would LOVE to meet him, sometime. :)

Leave a Reply

