Skip to content

Hey! Soul Sister…

June 19, 2010

I’ve always thought it a peculiarity of mine, to feel alone in the middle of a crowd.  Or, in my case, the middle of my family.  One StudMuffin plus 4 munchkins, does not a loner make.  But, I don’t have a large group of friends– just one or two with whom I share a connection.  Soul Sisters, if you will.

In my lifetime, I have had 3 of these rare friendships.  The very first began when I was just 4 years old, and she is the closest thing I have to a sister.  There is absolutely nothing this girl doesn’t know about me, and in spite of that, she still seems to enjoy my company. Must be love.

The second, a young woman I met at church after she and her husband returned from Papua New Guinea where they were missionaries.  I’ll never forget the first time I met her.  I thought she was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen, with huge, light green eyes, and long brown hair.  She wasn’t even wearing any make-up, a fact which made me the teensiest bit, envious.  She was all serious manner and quiet reserve, but I saw something in her that I clicked with.

I must have overwhelmed her, because after that first meeting, when the service was over, I handed her a slip of paper that had all of my information on it.  And I do mean ALL.  Address, phone number, cell number, e-mail address… you name it, it was on there!  She looked at me a little wide eyed, thanked me, and I thought to myself, “I just scared her to death.  She’ll never call!”

Then the unthinkable happened… at least from my point of view.  I got pregnant with my FOURTH munchkin, and it turned out that she was pregnant, too!  It was a done deal after that.  Women who grow babies together form an unshakeable bond.  A friendship born of life.  And the girl I first met that would barely string three words together to form a sentence, became the friend with a lifetime’s worth of words and experiences to share.  And I…  I was the lucky recipient.

The third is a rather new-ish acquaintance, but we both have an affinity for McDonald’s Filet o’ Fish Sandwiches (that she remembered when they were called, “Fish Wish Sandwiches” made me ridiculously happy), books, Scrabble, word tattoos and pastries.  This makes her soul sister material, in my book. I will also mention here, that kidney stones and visits to the ER, follow her around like a really big, scary-ass shadow!  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

J-  you know I love you, but nothing’s sacred in the blogging world!  ;0)

All of this to say…  I miss going to each other’s houses.  Hamburgers at Mimi’s Cafe.  Playdates at the park.  Playdates at The Stockholm Bakery with all those lovely pastries.  I miss chocolate chips with peanuts.  Trips to my aunt’s cabin (which may or may not have involved, guacamole, margaritas, bagels and my “special coffee”).  I miss window shopping– browsing around for hours, and never, not once, buying a single thing.  I miss hitting Target to stock up on snacks and sneaking it all into the movie theater.  I miss giggling like schoolgirls and laughing so hard you pee your pants.  I miss late night games of Trivial Pursuit and Pictionary, and how it always befuddled our husbands when one of us would draw a couple of triangles with lines coming out of the top, and the other one would shout, “Ballerina!”– and it was the right answer.  I miss talking until you’re sure you’ll run out of words, but instead, find an endless well of conversation that continually bubbles up and overflows.  I miss picking up the phone, knowing that if I need her, she’ll jump in her car and come right over.  I miss sharing my heart, knowing it to be in safe hands.  I miss all of that, and so much more.

I miss my girls.

I miss… us.

If you’re reading this, and you are one of the three mentioned above, I want you to know… your friendship has been a treasure to me– priceless in its offering, matchless in its beauty, and valued beyond reckoning. You are loved.

Until next time…

-M

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

